Integrity policy

Where do the parties and candidates stand?

Integrity and the influence of big money in Australian politics has been a huge issue in this federal election – so many of us want to see our elected leaders take the actions that will make our whole political system more fair, open, participatory and accountable.

What makes for good integrity policy? And where do the parties and candidates vying for your vote stand? On this page you’ll find:

Checklist: what to look for in a strong integrity policy

The Framework for a Fair Democracy is a package of reforms that, together, would transform the way our political system works, and make it more fair for everyone. We’ve consulted experts, stakeholders and community groups, to ensure that we have the strongest possible suite of reforms. Our Framework is best practice, and we think that every party and candidate should commit to these measures. 

While we need to enact all the policy positions in our Framework to begin the clean-up of our political system, this election there are a few things that we consider the most critical and time sensitive. You can use this checklist to assess whether a candidate or party is offering a solid integrity policy.

  1. Strong federal integrity commission, including the ability to hold hearings in public, and make findings
  2. Cap donations to political parties and disclose them publicly in real time 
  3. Limit election spending by corporations and political parties
  4. Open ministerial diaries, and strengthen the lobbyist register 

National Integrity Policy Forum

On April 12, we hosted an online policy forum, gathering 25 speakers ranging from political party representatives, independent MPs, and candidates. Each shared a 2 minute presentation about what they’ll do on integrity reforms if elected to Parliament.

A full list of speakers and the times of their remarks is shared in the dropdown menu below. Additionally, we invited the Liberal Party of Australia to participate and share the government’s position on integrity reforms and they did not accept the invitation.

List of speakers

If you would like to listen to a particular speaker, skip forward to the time listed.

Australian Democrats – Mr Steve Baty (9:45)

Australian Labor Party – Hon Mark Dreyfus, QC, MP (12:01)

The New Liberals – Mr Victor Kline (14:20)

Reason Australia – Ms Hannah Maher (16:30)

Centre Alliance – Ms Rebekha Sharkie MP (18:30)

Australian Greens – Senator Larissa Waters (20:40)

Dr Helen Haines MP – Independent Member for Indi (23:55)

Ms Zali Steggall MP – Independent Member for Warringah (26:35)

Mr Andrew Wilkie MP – Independent Member for Clark (28:45)

Ms Susan Benedyka – Independent for the Senate, VIC (32:06)

Ms Nicolette Boele – Independent for Bradfield (34:00)

Ms Kate Chaney – Independent for Curtin (36:23)

Ms Zoe Daniel – Independent for Goldstein (38:45)

Dr Hanabeth Luke – Independent for Page (40:50)

Ms Despi O’Connor – Independent for Flinders (44:34)

Mr David Pocock – Independent for the Senate, ACT (46:46)

Mr Thor Prohaska – Independent for Dickson (48:50)

Professor Kim Rubenstein – Independent for the Senate, ACT (50:58)

Dr Monique Ryan – Independent for Kooyong (53:10)

Dr Sophie Scamps – Independent for Mackellar (57:11)

Ms Linda Seymour – Independent for Hughes (59:45)

Ms Georgia Steele – Independent for Hughes (1:02:05)

Ms Kylea Tink – Independent for North Sydney (1:04:22)

Join the movement for a fair democracy

Sign up for updates and actions from the #OurDemocracy campaign – a nation-wide movement of people and organisations who want a healthy Australian democracy which works for all of us, not just for the powerful few.